12 Days of Christmas: 12 Moments of Anime #11 and #10 – On Why I am Broke (Double Entry)

Wow, I’m actually following through with this. Go me? These two are a related topic, so I’m just posting them together in one post.

12. K-ON and general moe

11. PVC figures

So, as should be pretty clear from the Eri Sawachika and Yuki Nagato figure entries, I have a figure collecting problem. Just how bad am I?

do I fail yet?

Does that speak for itself? If not, how about the fact that I have a Saber Lily waiting wrapped up under the Christmas tree and about 10 more other figures as either standing preorders or hidden Christmas presents? I love these things.

I got started with figures officially in May 2007 when I purchased Yamato’s 1/8 Seras Victoria alternate color version at Anime Central, but things didn’t start spiraling out of control like this (aka ordering figures online) until early 2009. I blame the Hetalia One Coin trading figures and Alter’s rerelease of their maid Saber for this nonsense.

My favorite company is a tough question to answer, but I might say Good Smile Company, even over Alter, based on the quality I’ve seen with my personal collection. I do adore Alter, though, and they are a close second.

I have a lot of beauties on their way in 2010, and I can’t wait to get my hands on them. It ranges from big deal limited figures like Alter’s dark maid Saber and Clayz’ Tony Taka original character catgirl maids, to Kotobukiya’s interpretation of Osaka from Azumanga Daioh in a swimsuit and the nendoroid o f the Vocaloid Megurine Luka. And of course, the figure everyone has an order in for, Black Rock Shooter. Argh I am so annoyed with GSC for delaying her FOUR TIMES. She’d better be GORGEOUS when she does arrive.

12. K-ON and general moe

11. PVC figures

10. Doujinshi

Doujinshi, aka the other reason why I am broke, is something I’ve collected for a while. My getting into D. Gray-man and Axis Powers Hetalia have boosted my collection.

my most recent additions to my doujinshi collection

I mostly have yaoi doujinshi in my collection, but Hetalia has introduced het and het H doujin into my collection now as well.

While the majority of my collection is Hetalia, I do have other series in there, and I love all of my collection. A real gem in there is my lone Gankutsuou doujinshi. Note to self; obtain more Gankutsuou doujin.

I mostly buy from Mandarake (http://www.mandarake.co.jp/) or use different smaller and more personal middleman services like Mitarashi Dango (http://wareta.net/akatsuki/mitadango/) to obtain my doujinshi. I hope to have someone on LJ that’s running a Comiket pickup service get something for me at Comiket 77 at the end of the month. Fingers crossed!

One thought on “12 Days of Christmas: 12 Moments of Anime #11 and #10 – On Why I am Broke (Double Entry)

Leave a Reply

