Technique is More Important than Speed – Stringed Makes Excuses and Talks About Panty and Stocking With Garterbelt

Funny how that line could describe this blog. Except I have neither speed nor technique.

So guess who just recovered from a massive case of burnout? Between my last post and now I struggled to watch anything, really. But Durarara!! cured me of that. I’m only on episode 9, so I don’t have much to say on it. I have an idea for a post after I finish it that I’ll have to do a little outside research for, though. That should be good if I get off my ass and make it happen. I also still need to finish Le Chevalier D’Eon and I continue to apologize for being the most irresponsible blogger ever.

So, what’s today’s topic about? Because I’m so original, I’ll be talking about what pretty much everyone else is talking about; Panty and Stocking With Garter Belt episode 1. Maybe this time I’ll actually watch all of it as it comes out.

When I first heard the title and plot synopsis I figured it would be a typical fanservice show. Then I saw the character designs. From there I was curious. It sounded like it could be really good or really bad.

So what is Panty and Stocking? It’s Gainax’s newest anime, in which two angels who were kicked out of Heaven have to collect coins that they obtain by defeating Ghosts if they want to be accepted back into Heaven. Panty, however, is more interested in having sex with as many men as she can, and Stocking’s focus lies with desserts. Their boss, a priest by the name of Garterbelt who is a large black man with an afro, has the duty of keeping them on task. The setting is a city that lies on a fault-line between Heaven and Hell and thus gets attacked by evil spirits frequently. The show is entirely in Powerpuff Girls-esque art and animation, which is a godsend given the first monster is made out of shit and that would look nauseatingly gross in any more of a realistic style.

I mean seriously

So, how did I feel about it? So far so good. I think the pacing is a strong point here; if it’s going to be monster of the week throughout, a solid allegro pace like the first episode displays will be crucial in keeping it entertaining. The animation is quite a treat to look at, too. I often found myself neglecting to read the subtitles for a couple seconds here and there because I was too busy watching things move.
I’m also finding the characters interesting thus far. We don’t have much info on them yet, but the fact that Panty and Stocking are more interested in sex and sweets than earning their way back into Heaven is curious, and I’m hoping the series will reveal why they’re even bothering to try to get back (since I can kind of guess why they were kicked out). Also why is Garterbelt helping them? They do have some mysteries to them, which makes them entertaining past their amusing but flat personalities.

I really liked the transformation sequence

I wonder why

The only thing I’m not loving as much as others seem to be is the juxtaposition of a “cartoony” style with adult themes. That isn’t anything new or special and it’s a weak gimmick to rely on. I hope the series doesn’t end up using that as a crutch too heavily.

It will be fun to see where this goes.

One thought on “Technique is More Important than Speed – Stringed Makes Excuses and Talks About Panty and Stocking With Garterbelt

  1. Pingback: Breaking All The RRRRRRUUUUUUs – A Panty and Stocking With Garterbelt Review « Powered by Sugar

Leave a Reply

