An Example of Dubbing Done RIGHT: Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt ep. 1-2 dubbed

Oh hey I have a blog, I almost forgot.

 

Anyway, I was at Anime Central and had the pleasure of attending the Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt dub premiere. This mini review here contains my feelings on it. Enjoy.

 Image

What specifically was screened was the dubbed version of episodes 1 and 2 of Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt. In other words, the four short segments “Excretion Without Honor and Humanity”,  “Death Race 2010”, “The Turmoil of the Beehive”, and “Sex and the Daten City”. As such, this means I have no idea what the Demon Sisters or Corset will sound like, but I have a pretty good sampling of everyone else. This is the cast list:

 

Panty – Jamie Marchi

Stocking – Monica Rial

Garterbelt – Chris Sabat

Chuck – Ian Sinclair

Brief  – Joel McDonald

Kneesocks: Cherami Leigh

Scanty: Colleen Clinkenbeard

Corset: Chris Ayres

Fastner: Chris Bevins

 

Personally I’m not too worried about Scanty because I generally like Colleen Clinkenbeard, though I don’t know anything about Cherami Leigh.

Anyway, as for the actual dub? Let me sum up about how the characters sound. Panty sounds like an oversexed bitch. Her voice is lower, pretty similar in pitch to the Japanese, actually, but it doesn’t sound like they’re trying to match pitch with the Japanese like so many awful dubs do. It just seems to me like Jamie Marchi happens to have a similar pitch to Arisa Ogasawa, the original seiyuu, on top of being more or less perfect for the part. Stocking sounds like the rude gothloli that she is. Her voice has a distinctive quality to it that I can’t really describe, but I like it. It definitely suits Stocking. I had a friend who saw the trailer say they expected her to sound more girly, but I have to say what Monica Rial did with her was way better than that would’ve been. Chuck sounds like….Chuck. Yeah. I’m not entirely sure what the point of dubbing him even was, but Ian Sinclair enjoyed the work and it gives another actor some money to eat with, so I’m not complaining. Garterbelt sounds like a flawless combination of a black Southern preacher and a black cop from a cop show. This is extra hilarious given how utterly not black Chris Sabat is. Brief sounds like a nervous wreck and a nerd.

In short, everyone is spot on.

Now, I know a lot of anime fans hate the practice of “fifteening”; when unnecessary swearing that wasn’t in the original dialogue is inserted into a dub to make it sound edgier. Normally, I also hate this practice. However, with Panty and Stocking, it’s more or less necessary, and entirely welcome. I mean, really, it’s Panty and Stocking. Not maximizing the foul language would just be wrong. They’ve managed to include quite a few interesting curses into the dialogue, as well, such as “shit pickle”. Garterbelt has some rather phenomenal lines that I can’t recall to recite verbatim that had me rolling with laughter.

Now is probably a good time to note that, if anyone is still actually worried about censored anime DVDs, it’s been confirmed that Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt’s release will be 100% uncensored. The trailer has bleeps, yes, but that’s since it’s posted on the internet where just about anyone can get to it.

All in all, Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt is pretty clearly getting a dub that is both true to the series’ original tone and feel and is excellently executed. Definitely worth picking up.

4 thoughts on “An Example of Dubbing Done RIGHT: Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt ep. 1-2 dubbed

    • Congratulations, you have an opinion! It doesn’t match mine, and that’s okay. But that doesn’t change my opinion, sorry. I still think the dub is phenomenal, especially after having seen all of it. Disagree? That’s nice. Start your own blog and post about why you don’t like it. But this comment changes nothing and persuades no one.

  1. I think you’re spot on. I’ve never been really anti-dub or anti-sub, I usually listen to both and go with what I’m most pleased with. So some I prefer the sub (Ouran, for example) others I prefer the dub (Saiyuki, Hetalia).

    I will admit I watched the dub of Panty and Stocking first as I usually multi-task while watching a show but I was curious and so I watched the sub to see what it was like originally. I feel that the voice actors did a great job- usually a discrepancy between the dub and the sub is that we can tell poor acting better in our own language, but with Panty and Stocking the acting is fantastic I feel.

    When I did go to watch the sub, however, I was slightly disappointed that it wasn’t as humorous to me as the dub is. Which I know is a really strange way to feel, but still. I think that upping the swearing was a pretty great call and it’s easy to get pulled in because you can just feel how much fun the voice actors and actresses had on this project. And since so many of the titles are references to other media, having such blatant references to at least American pop culture is almost essential to making Panty and Stocking more than just gross humor. Of course, I’m not sure how many of these references are in the original version (I only watched the one episode subbed) so that could make my idea completely moot.

    But all in all, I agree with what you are saying and disagree with the other commentator: English Panty and Stocking sound just about right for their personalities and who they are. Japanese, while successful in a lot of instances, is not always the only way.

    • I really love Panty and Stocking with Garterbelt in both English and Japanese, myself, but then I did see it in Japanese first, back when it was airing. I’m just really impressed with the dub, since most dubs tend to go for “good enough” and not really anything beyond that. I love when I find a dub that does a good job.

Leave a Reply

